Bingkai Karya Logo

Indonesia Revokes Visa-Free Rules for 159 Countries

Indonesia temporarily revokes the visa-free rule for foreign tourists from 159 countries that took effect on June 7, 2023. This policy is stated in the Decree of the Minister of Law and Human Rights of the Republic of Indonesia Number M.HH-GR.01.07 of 2023 which was approved on June 7, 2023.

Previously, visa-free visits were valid for 30 days and could not be extended. The requirements that must be shown to the immigration officer at the Immigration Checkpoint (TPI) are a passport that is valid for at least six months and an airplane ticket to leave the territory of Indonesia. Indonesian Minister of Law and Human Rights (Menkumham) Yasonna Laoly personally announced the suspension of the visa-free visit (BVK) policy for 159 countries.

Previously, Presidential Regulation No. 21/2016 listed 169 countries for visa-free access to Indonesia. After suspending the visa-free policy for 159 countries, currently, only 10 ASEAN countries are allowed to have access, including Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines, Timor-Leste, Cambodia, Brunei Darussalam, Laos, and Myanmar.

Read also: Ancol Gives One Month Free Entrance Ticket, Note The Schedule and Regulations!

President Joko Widodo revealed the reason for the temporary suspension of visa-free visits to 159 countries. According to Jokowi, there is an evaluation that must be done. Jokowi said it was necessary to conduct an assessment, including whether the granting of a visa-free policy would bring benefits to the country or not. This step is also often carried out by other countries.

Countries that have canceled visa-free travel regulations by Indonesia include the United States, Saudi Arabia, Britain, France, Japan, and many other countries.

Source: CNN Indonesia

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *